Für die deutsche Version









Our Trips in the USA

From Napa to Carmel

San Francisco For short trips on the weekend the Bay Area offers a lot of possibilities. San Francisco, of course, is the main tourist attraction with Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Alcatraz, Golden Gate park, Lombard Street and other interesting places.

If you travel further north you will find Sausalito, Angel Island, and the Napa Valley. To the east you will get to Berkley, Mount Diablo or Mount Hamilton . As you travel south from San Francisco not only do you find the metropolis San Jose, you also find many beautiful places to walk or to hike.

If you leave the Bay Area traveling southward, then you will find Santa Cruz, Monterey and finally Carmel, to name only a few of the peaceful little coastal towns on the Pacific ocean.

Dream Vacation at Hawaii

King Kamehameha hotel Finally at the end of October we had vacation. The journey took us into the paradise: Hawaii !! Sun, water, great beaches ... all you need to relax from the stress of the Silicon Valley.

We visited two islands. First we spent three days on Big Island, where we saw a lot from the local culture and also made a helicopter ride over an active volcano. Then spent another week on Kauai, the quiet garden island with wonderfull beaches, many hiking trails and a unique nature.

Seattle and Victoria (BC)

Seattle The Labor Day weekend provides an additional day off at the beginning of September. The same time Kremana has her birthday. And because Roland never has an idea for a birthday present, we use the extended weekend for a birthday journey.

This time our destination was Seattle, the origin of Starbuck's coffee and Amazon.com the on-line bookseller. Seattle is a modern city with a lot of history. From there we went to Victoria, Canada.

Lake Tahoe and Yosemite National Park

Lake Tahoe The Sierra Nevada is a gigantic mountain chain in the east of California and is also a natural barrier to neighbor state Nevada, the gamblers paradise. In the Sierra there are many beautiful parks like the Yosemite National Park or the fantastic Lake Tahoe, the "Lake in the Sky", with its 1900 meter over sea level.

Our three-day trip at the end of June took us first to Lake Tahoe and then into the Yosemite National Park.

Mendocino - Pearl of California's North

Mendocino The fantastic north coast of California was the destination of our Eastern weekend getaway. Only two hours north of San Francisco you will find Mendocino.

Original coastal landscapes, majestic peace and quietness, romantic Bed&Breakfast pansions and restaurants with an excellent cousine distinguish the little coastal town, which also was often used as movie scenery. A word of caution, in the summer there is a pretty good chance for weeklong fog.

A Christmas Trip - Los Angelas and San Diego

Los Angeles 25 degrees celsius at the beach and great sunshine -- well -- that was December 22nd, 1999 in Coronado near San Diego. Beside Sea World and the historic gas lamp quarter in San Diego the trip took us also to the "City of Angels".

Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios are only some of the highlights in LA. On our way back home we took the romantic coastal highway number 1 with stops in Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo and the legendary Hearst Castle.

Las Vegas, Grand Canyon and the Death Valley

Las Vegas In September 1999 our first journey in the US took us to "Sin City", Las Vegas. Instead of losing all our money in the numerous casinos, we spent our money to see the show of Siegfried and Roy and to attend the concert of Sarah Brightman on her "Eden" world tour.

Las Vegas was also the starting point for further trips to the Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam and Death Valley.


Home | Trips | Guests | At Work | Recipes | Stamps

Copyright © 2000 by Family Leins, All rights reserved.
For questions concerning the homepage please contact the webmaster.

For English version









Unsere Ausflüge und Reisen in den USA

Von Napa bis Carmel

San Francisco Für Kurzausflüge am Wocheende bietet die Bay Area eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten. San Francisco ist natürlich das touristische Zentrum mit Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Alcatraz, Golden Gate Park, Lombard Street, ...

Aber auch der Norden mit dem Napa Valley, Sausalito oder Angel Island und der Osten mit Berkeley, Mount Diablo oder Mount Hamilton hat sehr schöne Ausflugsziele. Südlich von San Francisco gibt es neben der Metropole San Jose viele schöne Plätze zum spazieren gehen oder zum wandern.

Verläßt man die Bay Area weiter nach Süden kommt man nach Santa Cruz, Monterey und schließlich nach Carmel, um nur einige der schönen Küstenstädte am Pazifik zu nennen.

Traumurlaub auf Hawaii

King Kamehameha Hotel Ende Oktober war es nun soweit, endlich Urlaub! Und die Reise ging ins Paradies: Hawaii!! Sonne, Wasser, tolle Strände ... alles was man so richtig zur Erhohlung braucht.

Wir haben zwei Inseln besucht. Zuerst waren wir drei Tage auf Big Island wo wir neben viel hawaiischer Geschichte und Kultur auch über einen aktiven Vulkan geflogen sind. Und dann gings noch eine Woche nach Kauai, der Garten Insel mit herrlichen Stränden und toller Natur.

Seattle und Victoria (BC)

Seattle Labor Day Weekend sorgt hier in den USA für einen zusätzlichen freien Tag Anfang September und just das ist auch die Zeit, wenn Kremena Geburstag hat. Und da Roland immer Geschenk-Ideen fehlen, nutzen wir das Wochenende für eine Geburtstagsreise.

Diesmal gings nach Seattle, der Heimat von Starbucks Kaffee und Amazon dem online-Buchhändler. Neben viel Geschichte und Moderne in Seattle haben wir auch Victoria in Kanada besucht.

Lake Tahoe und Yosemite National Park

Lake Tahoe Die Sierra Nevada ist eine gigantische Gebirgskette im Osten Kaliforniens, welche eine natürliche Trennung zum Bundesstaat Nevada, dem Spieler-Paradies, darstellt. In der Sierra gibt es viele sehenswerte Naturparks, wie den Yosemite National Park und das Gebiet rund um den traumhaften und in 1900m Höhe gelegenen Lake Tahoe, dem "Lake in the Sky".

Unser dreitägiger Ausflug Ende Juni führte uns zuerst zum Lake Tahoe und dann in den Yosemite National Park.

Mendocino - Perle in Kaliforniens Norden

Mendocino Ostern war die traumhafte Nordküste Kaliforniens unser Ziel für diesen Kurztrip. Zwei Stunden nördlich von San Francisco liegt Mendocino.

Ursprüngliche Küstenlandschaften, majestätische Ruhe, romantische Bed&Breakfast Pansionen und Restaurants mit einer ausgezeichneten Küche zeichnen dieses oft als Filmkulisse genutzte Stätchen aus. Doch Vorsicht, im Sommer ist die Chance für tagelangen Nebel groß.

Ein Weihnachtsausflug - Los Angelas und San Diego

Los Angeles 25 Grad Celsius am Strand bei strahlenden Sonnenschein -- ja ganau -- das war der 22. Dezember 1999 in Coronado bei San Diego. Neben dem Sea World und dem historisch Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego hat uns dieser Ausflug auch in die "Stadt der Engel" gebracht.

Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios waren nur einige der Highlights in LA. Rückwärts führte unser Weg dem Highway Number 1 entlang mit kurzen Abstechern nach Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo und dem legendären Hearst Castle.

Las Vegas, Grand Canyon und das Tal des Todes

Las Vegas Unsere erste Reise im September 1999 führte uns in die Stadt der Laster, Las Vegas. Doch anstelle unser Geld in den Casinos auszugeben, haben wir Siegfried und Roy besucht und waren zum life Konzert von Sarah Brightman.

Las Vegas war auch Ausgangspunkt für weitere Trips zum Grand Canyon, Hoover Damm und Death Valley.


Home | Ausflüge | Gäste | Auf Arbeit | Rezepte | Briefmarken

Copyright © 2000 by Familie Leins, All rights reserved.
Für Fragen zur Home-Page kontaktieren Sie bitte den Web-Master